I’ve had a bit of an iBooks renaissance. When I got my first iPad a little over a year ago, I liked iBooks, but I tended to prefer the Kindle app (and Kindle books), both because of the interface and the (greater) selection of books. But, as is often the case with Apple products, the simplicity of iBooks is winning me over. But not for eBooks necessarily.

I go to the gym before school and use my iPad to prep for class; teaching four literature classes makes it easy to read ebooks via my iPad. But the opening unit of my Sports in Lit class looks at competition, and the readings are all essays from various sources. I knew that iBooks could display .pdfs, and so I (down)loaded the essays to iBooks. Problem solved.

I found it curious, however, that the ebooks and pdfs weren’t in the same location / library in iBooks. As I accessed these collections (via the Collections button), I noticed that the Collections could be customized, and herein lies the renaissance. Now I have a collection for each of my units for my three different lit classes. I’ve converted everything from essays to lecture notes to assignment sheets to pdfs and now store them in iBooks. This makes the iPad a comprehensive resource for my courses, i.e. I will always have the iPad in my school bag, and so if I have a question, say, about how much a category is weighted in the grading of a certain assignment, that assignment sheet is easily accessible via iBooks.

(I had experienced this phenomenon before with ebooks whereby, with the iPad close at hand, I was checking more quotes / sources from my papers because I was more likely to have the iPad with the ebook than to have the paper book itself, not to mention the fact that I could grade papers from different classes and have all my texts at hand without having to carry the books themselves. Now I can do this same checking with handouts, assignment sheets, etc.)

