I always laugh a bit (to myself, of course) when people ask me to explain Dropbox to them. There is, of course, nothing to explain. It’s a folder, pure and simplle, that works like all of the other folders on the computer. The explanation they really need is the conceptual explanation: is Dropbox a paradigm shift in the way you access your folders? Or is Dropbox merely a flash drive without the flash drive, i.e. the place where you temporarily store files to access them in a different place?

SugarSync purports to circumvent this conceptual shift by, rather than adding a folder to yr computer for copying and syncing, identifying existing folders on your computer to be synced. In theory this sounds like a better approach. No copying. No committing to Dropbox. Just the good part, the syncing.

I’ve been using Dropbox for a couple of years now and really can’t do without it. I just added SugarSync to my cloud arsenal, and have been using it recently. Here’s the verdict (so far). Web based will always be clunky. It’s why I don’t love GoogleDocs. The web-based interface isn’t as smooth to navigate as the Finder based interface that Dropbox naturally incorporates. Sure transferring files from Dropbox can be a pain (because my documents folder is bigger than Dropbox allows and I would rather not pay for the extra space) but navigating it to find what I want so easily makes it worthwhile.

So I like SugarSync and will use it for less commonly accessed items, but the web interface, even that split second it takes to open the new web page of a folder, is less efficient than finding something in, well, the Finder.

