The first unit of my archaeology course is an introductory that focuses on the Greek alphabet and ancient Greek geography. My standard game for the Greek alphabet is Greek alphabet bingo. I have lovely laminated bingo boards that I made, I pass them out, and I have a tin of old European money (pre-Euro) that I pass out for tokens. I wasn’t quite sure how I was going to do bingo paperless, though, so I searched around the net for some other options, and I found one that I liked: pre-made letter cards that you pass out to the students who then put themselves in the correct Greek alphabet order. I liked the idea but I didn’t like the paper and (arts and crafts) prep.

One of my goals this year, especially with the 1:1, is to go paperless as much as possible but both of these

 

activities didn’t seem to lend themselves initially to going paperless. But the 1:1 allowed me to do it with a bit of creativity and some technical know-how.

I made a Word document with a Greek letter and i ts name on each page in large font.
I posted that Word document to ItsLearning (our CMS).
The students in class downloaded that Word document.
I gave them a random number and they went to that page in the document (thus showing that letter in the alphabet on their computer screens. They then came to the front of the room holding their laptops in the correct Greek alphabet order.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Greek alphabet bingo was a bit simpler. They opened the bingo boards in Preview. I again gave them a number (this time I could go in order because their goal wasn’t the sequentiality of the previous exercise), and they again navigated to that page in the bingo boards .pdf (thus ensuring that they all have different boards). They then used the annotation tools in Preview to mark the letters as I called them out.

 

