Teaches and peers tend to react to Twitter the way I do to Facebook: utter disdain. ‘I don’t tweet’ they often say with derision. What I think in response is ‘neither do I’. I’m not interested in Twitter for the audience it might provide me; my aphorisms, rants, and anecdotes certainly belong with me. Rather, Twitter for me is a great way to receive information. So over breakfast, I’ll browse through the New York Times, the Boston Globe, SportsCenter, etc. all from my Twitter feed. Those stories come to me rather than I having to go to all of them.

This feature became particularly useful last night. I was showering, and noticed that the water pressure was conspicuously low. If my wife wasn’t doing laundry, I knew we were in trouble (and might have been either way). Twitter, however, to the rescue. From a Worcester school committee member’s Twitter feed (thanks, TN) as well as the Worcester city Twitter feed, I found out immediately what was going on: a major water main break and the water to the entire city had been shut off.

So, try Twitter out. I don’t want to hear your 140-character thoughts. But you might want to have news and interests come to you rather than you going to them. And that’s what Twitter’s great for.

 

