I wrote last year about embedding the class Twitter feed in ItsLearning. I did not embed this year because I mandated students use their cell phones to subscribe, but as the year has gone on I’ve realized that sometimes the cell phone system can be glitchy and that it can’t hurt to have the feed on ItsLearning for reference. So I went back to my post to redo the Twitter feed and…the post instructions no longer work.

So after some frustrating searching and trial and error here are the new instructions (and, Twitter, feel free to make this easier to find and to navigate in the future).

  1. It begins at the widgets page here.
  2. Click on ‘Create New’.
  3. In the ‘username’ field, put your username (or the username of the feed you want to embed doesn’t have to be yours).
  4. In the ‘Domains’ field, include the address of the site where the feed is being embedded. This is where I had the most trouble, first not realizing that I needed to include this (this is different from the previous system) and then realizing that I needed Wayland’s specific ItsLearning address: wps.itslearning.com. But once I worked all this out it embedded just fine.

Screen Shot 2012-12-23 at 5.08.30 PM

