All of my classes are signed on with EduBlogs and I’ve been able to try it out for a few initial forays.

  1. The Pope’s resignation has brought all sorts of cool Latin things to the fore, so I used my (Edu)blog to post a number of them that I then used with my Latin class: the blog as jumping point model.
  2. I had my Medieval students respond to Chaucer’s Knight’s Tale on their blog: the blog as journal model.
  3. Yesterday my English 4 students responded as a comment to a prompt that I had posted on my blog, i.e. rather than posting on their own blog they posted to mine as a comment to one of my posts: the (perhaps more efficient to grade?) blog as journal model.

Numbers 2 and 3 have to do with this notion of approving posts and comments, that, at least for now, I have it set that all posts and comments have to be approved by me before being posted to the blog. I poked around EduBlogs a bit the last few days and have figured out two perhaps (more) efficient ways to approve posts: using the QuickEdit button (which doesn’t actually let you see the post but allows you to approve relatively quickly; or using the ‘Pending Posts’ option at the bottom (which lets you see the post but includes a few more steps). I wish there an ‘All Pending Posts’ screen that included the posts themselves and an action button; that would be great. Number 3 above is an attempt at a way around that (and certainly not my idea), whereby all responses are attached to a post on my blog, which should show up a bit more efficiently on my dashboard. More on this to come.

