As some of you know, I’ve published a few books and this year one of the textbooks (really a workbook) was up for revisions. So after doing the revisions in the fall, after editing, further revising (of the revisions), and more editing, we were finally ready for the page proofs, i.e. .pdfs of the book that are the final opportunity for editing / catching mistakes.

I assumed that at some point this would happen, that I would receive a large .pdf and be forced to face the decision of print or no-print. I had always done my editing by hand (it always seemed a bit more organic and would slow me down a bit, despite the fact that I do most of my editing / grading of student papers on the computer) but figured, well, if I was going paperless, I was going paperless.

Originally, I figured I’d use Air Display to have the proofs on my iPad and write notes in the email back to the editor. But this meant I would have to be more descriptive (and so take longer) in my email. I realized that using .pdf-Notes would allow me to highlight the mistake I was talking about and so keep my email / text spare.

It worked great. With simple red circles or a few simple annotations (admittedly in lousy finger-written script) I could easily highlight where the mistakes were and connect my email to the proofs. I then used the Dropbox feature in .pdf-Notes to save the annotated .pdf and attached it to the email, both getting it to the editor but also saving a copy for myself.

So once again .pdf-Notes proves useful and user-friendly. It is my .pdf reader / annotator of choice.

20130501-202900.jpg

