I feel like I spend a lot of time discussing communication and how best to do it. My Twitter experiences are well documented, and I wrote a lot about Kikutext last summer. Remind101 is similar to Kikutext and, from what I remember of Kikutext, easier and a bit more streamlined: students text a sign-up message to a dummy number (not your number) which then auto-responds with instructions. They are then in your class and will receive messages you send from the Remind101 site or app on their phones as text messages.

In any case, at this point I’m trying to figure out whether to continue to use Twitter-via-cell-phone for communication or to shift over to Remind101. One of my big stumbling blocks with Remind101 was that individual classes could not be embedded, so that every text sent to all classes would show up on an individual class’s website (or ItsLearning page). Whether they added the individualization feature or I just missed it the first time, you can indeed embed individual Remind101 feeds in your website:

  1. At upper right, click on your user name and from the menu that appears choose ‘Widgets’.
  2. On the ‘Widgets’ page, click ‘Create another widget’ at bottom left.
  3. Use the pulldown menu to choose the class for which you want to create the widget and click the ‘Get Widget’ button.
  4. Copy the embed code and paste it into your site.

So any thoughts on Remind101 (or similar web-based text services) vs. Twitter? I’m leaning toward Remind101 but I (and my students) are used to Twitter.

Screen Shot 2013-08-26 at 10.00.09 PM

