Notability is a note-taking app that integrates notepad-type features (drawing, sketching, etc.) with .pdf-reader type features (mark-ups). I grabbed it maybe a year ago and have enjoyed using it: I don’t take notes per se on the iPad too much but have used it to great effect as an annotator. Apple has apparently made it the app of the week which means it is free for the next seven days; here’s the web link for the app. And here’s the MacRumors article that talks about the app a bit more in depth.

I’ve included below an image of what I perhaps use it most for, which is home improvement projects, or any project in which a live shot could use some annotations. (Notability exports as a .pdf, so I include a screen shot of the image portion of the .pdf and then a link to the full .pdf.)

(And we’re refacing the mantle and selling the hutch.)

Screen Shot 2014-05-02 at 12.22.11 PM And this is the full note.

A similar use:

Screen Shot 2014-05-02 at 12.24.19 PM

