So this was a cool intersection of my tech interests and the pseudo-academic past in which I envisioned myself sequestered in romanticized, rare book rooms / libraries throughout Europe (think Name of the Rose without the conspiracy / bloodshed; I did make it into a couple of those libraries in Rome while working on my undergrad thesis).

An infographic analyzes the impact that something as seemingly trivial as font choice can have on ink consumption and a single letter can have on paper use. (My students are constantly amazed at the Romans’ lack of use of spaces between words. I remind them that 1. it’s not has hard to read that way as you think and 2. how much space spaces take up in a book / how much paper could be saved if we remove those spaces.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/09/03/true-cost-comic-sans-infographic_n_5737590.html?utm_hp_ref=tw

