When I go blended with my senior English classes, I use Doodle for students to schedule their mandatory appointments with me. And I love Doodle: it is easy, straightforward, and does exactly what you want it to do (with some nice advanced features too). The problem with Doodle is this: I have to go there and see the poll to see who is coming when. And, while knowing this isn’t essential info, often students will ask me when their appointment is. So this evening, for instance, I spent about five minutes transferring the appointments from Doodle into my GoogleCalendar. (And Doodle does link to GoogleCalendar, but only, it seems, in the sense that your calendar will appear on you Doodle calendar but your Doodle appts won’t appear on your GoogleCalendar; I can’t guarantee this but this is my experience with it.)

So I saw this post on Twitter about using GoogleCalendar and one of the tips was GoogleCalendar’s appointment slots, which I had never heard of. But basically you do the following:

  1. Create an event in GoogleCalendar the way you normally would.
  2. In the pop up window, click (next to Event) ‘Appointment Slots’.
  3. On that screen, you’ll be able to divide the event into blocks (or ‘appointment slots’).
  4. You’ll then get a link to share with people with which they can sign themselves up for those blocks / slots.

The only real advantage over Doodle, but it is a significant one I think, is the ability for appointments to show up directly in your GoogleCalendar.

Now this wouldn’t work for random appointments, i.e. you couldn’t use it for students to schedule unstructured extra help sessions but for, say, my blended periods or language oral exams, etc., this could make scheduling and knowing who’s coming next much easier and more efficient.

Screen Shot 2014-09-17 at 10.29.57 PM Screen Shot 2014-09-17 at 10.31.26 PM

