Saw this piece from iphoneinformer.com and was actually just wondering that. I had seen a Snapchat from the Boston Breakers (soccer team) that I thought would be interesting to post to my coaching blog, so I thought that would be a good way to try it out. So here’s the process (basics from iphoneinformer; screenshots and annotations from me):

  1. Plug in your iOS device to your Mac.
  2. Open Quicktime.
  3. From the File menu choose New Movie Recording.
  4. Screen Shot 2017-03-21 at 7.29.02 AM
  5. When I first tried this, I mistakenly chose New Screen Recording (because it seemed intuitive) but that does not work. So it is New Movie Recording (and be prepared for that wonderful moment when the Facetime camera turns on and there you are).
  6. From the menu next to the record button, change the input to your device, which, if plugged in, will appear there.
  7. Screen Shot 2017-03-21 at 7.32.13 AM
  8. One thing to note is that I did not change the audio input (bottom arrow above) and so did not record the sound with the video. This was not enough to make me redo it; I didn’t really care about the sound, but it is worth noting that the audio input needs to be changed to capture any sound from the phone (and the iphoneinformer piece did not mention this).

Obviously this function can be used for recording instructions or how-tos, even game-casts, but a useful thing to know / have in the toolbox for when you need it.

Here’s the video that I recorded (again, without the sound):

Untitled from Ed DeHoratius on Vimeo.

