On my longer to-do list, is the portfolio. For my sports course, both years I’ve taught it, I’ve wanted students to do a year long (or perhaps semester long) project on a sport of their choice. They have a number of assignments from which to choose worth different points values and either compiling these assignments or choosing some of them to add up to a fixed number of points would constitute a portfolio. As I become more paper free, I of course am turning to technology as a way to do this, but I haven’t even begun to explore this yet.

Relevant to today’s topic (blogging), I found this post about blogging and portfolios, in which the relevance / connection of blogging to portfolios is discussed / debated. I see blogging as a piece of the portfolio rather than a way to assemble / present the portfolio, but some interesting ideas here about both blogging and portfolios.